University at a glance

Larestan University of Medical Sciences & Health Services

About the University

By virtue of a decision of the Council for the Development of Medical Sciences Universities of Iran on 7/18/2009, the Larestan School of Medical Sciences was established and was later promoted to the Larestan School of Medical Sciences and Health Services based on a decision of the Council for the Development of Medical Sciences Universities of Iran on 7/9/2013. Dr. Ali Reza Yarahmadi was the school’s dean for about one year, when he was succeeded with Dr. Hossein Faramarzi whose office lasted about 3 years. As the third dean of the school, Dr. Atefeh Raoufi took the responsibility for 2 years, and currently, Dr. Mohammad Hossein Karimi is the head of the faculty. He is now serving the people of the region in cooperation with his deputies including Dr. Abbas Nasri (Deputy of Management and Human Resources Development), Dr. Vahid Yeganeh (Deputy of Health), Dr. Majid Akbarzadeh (Deputy of Treatment), Dr. Zahra Keshtkaran (Deputy of Education), and Dr. Houshang Jafarpour (Deputy of Food and Drug).

Brief History of Knowledge in the Country

Higher education in Iran has a very long history. During the Achaemenid period (595-355 BC), government services were required for higher education in law, and disciplines such as medicine, arts, geography, music, astronomy and military science were also taught.
During the Sassanid era, the Jundee Shapour University was a global center and scholars from different parts of the world began studying in the fields of philosophy, astronomy, theology, law and medicine. After the flourishing of Islamic civilization, there were also numerous beatilkhamahs in the Islamic world, among which Azerbaijan's role as one of the oldest origins of human civilization was very influential and established major scientific centers.
The quarter of Rashidi was created as the largest and most valuable educational complex of Islamic world in Tabriz. The Higher Education Center, which was taught in various time sciences, was a scientific and industrial city including five villages, Dar al-Shafa, Dara al-Sidah, mosques, libraries, coins, monasteries, monuments, and textile and paper mills.